The Oblivious Spanking Counselor

• 25 posts
    May 25, 2016 3:38 PM PDT

I was chatting with a client of mine one evening a long while ago, and he started rambling on about the current popularity of "Life Coaching". He suggested that with my "motivational talents" and my background in NLP and other psychologically based models I should offer a special curriculum for those who want to put some aspect of their life in better order. I pondered why I hadn't thought of it myself? Then I realized: I had. I have been a life coach for sixteen years with my naughty children. I just never put a label on it.

When I accidentally stumbled into my vocation as a many years ago I made a commitment to myself that I would engage with each person as the unique individual he or she is. Consequently, I became versed in many styles and approaches to therapy. As those people came to me, one at a time, we'd talk about their needs and desires and together we'd create the type of adventure we'd have together.

Some wanted to play the role of a naughty child to my adult authority figure, being taken to task for some school infraction or household mischief. Some wanted to re-live a childhood memory. Many invented completely unique fantasies from which I got to make discoveries of my own.

David was a landscape contractor who sought my advice.

“Please be seated, David. You're looking well.”

“I'm a very naughty boy, Miss.”

Ruffling through irrelevant paperwork I remained stoic as was expected for a person in my position.

“You're getting rave reviews from your clients. Seem to be doing a splendid job.”

“No Miss, it's not the work. I've been naughty in other ways.”

Between checking text messages I glanced at him quizzically.

“How so?”

Sweating, nervous and fidgeting as he was, the response wasn't immediate.

“I've...um...been playing with my naughty bits.”

I was sure there was a tuna fish sandwich in my desk drawer and I was a tad peckish.